Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.

Review Process

Researchers are encouraged to submit a final report to the UKMED team within the ‘Submission period’ for it to be appraised before the review date. An outcome from the Research Subgroup will be communicated to the UKMED Researcher by the review date.

The Research Subgroup will consider reviewing outputs for:

  • Presentation of preliminary findings at conferences (Abstract submissions for conferences or poster presentations must include at least an interim report to be reviewed by the Research Subgroup.); and
  • Submission of a final report for publication in a journal.

If you are planning to present findings at a conference or poster presentation, then you must submit an interim report for the Research Subgroup to review. UKMED will not approve standalone abstracts for conference or poster presentations.

The 2020 dates for reviewing UKMED research outputs are:

Submission Period Review Date
2 February 2020 – 22 May 2020 22 June 2020
23 May 2020 – 1 September 2020 29 September 2020
2 September 2020 – 6 November 2020 11 December 2020

Review outcomes

The Research Subgroup Chair will make the final decision on each output. We will provide you with a response on the review date shown in the table above.

The following final decisions will be made following the review:

Suggested changes required Reviewers have identified areas that require revisions essential for correctness. The final report will have to undergo further review after the revision.
Suggested changes recommended Reviewers have suggested some enhancements that could improve the final report. No further review by the Research Subgroup is required.
Approved The output from the final report is cleared for publication in conferences/the manuscript is released for submission to a journal. At least 30 days before you make a submission to publish we require a confidential copy of your paper.

Depending on the types of changes required we will either:

  • Consider revisions at the next review date; or
  • Consider revisions by Chair’s action upon resubmission, you must allow 10 working days for this.

Conferences and poster presentations

If the interim report is approved, then you may proceed with presenting your findings at conferences and poster presentations. However, if there are any outstanding required or recommended changes then you must apply the required changes to be reviewed at the next review window. The changes must be reflected in the materials to be presented at the conference.

Please note, the Research Subgroup reserve the right to refuse approval to present inaccurate or flawed results at conferences and poster presentations.


© Copyright UKMED 2020. All rights reserved | Disclaimer